2011-2012 Edition of the Transeo Academic Awards - List of submitted papers for the first Transeo Academic Awards

13 papers have been selected and evaluated by Transeo Academic members.


  • 1st prize: Mrs Susanne Durst (University of Liechtenstein) for "The succession process for small and medium-sized enterprises: do intangible assets matter?"

Abstract Keynote Transeo Conference Full text

  • 2nd prize: Mr Francesco Chirico (Jönköping University, Sweden), Mrs Pramodita Sharma (University of Vermont, USA) and Mr Carlo Slavato (Bocconi University, Italy) for "A farewell to the business: championing exit and continuity in entrepreneurial family firms" (Entrepreneurship & Regional Development: An International Journal,Vol22, Issue 3-4, 2010)

Abstract Full text

  • 3rd prize: Mrs Christina Constantinidis (CRP Henri Tudor, G.D. Luxemburg) and Mrs Teresa Nelson (Simmons College, USA) for "Integrating succession and gender issues from the perspective of the daughter of the family enterprise: a cross-national investigation"(International Management, 14(1), 43-54)

Keynote Transeo Conference Full text

Candidates (alphabetically):

Mr Oliver Ahlers (Otto Beisheim School of Management, Germany), Mr Andreas Hack (Otto Beisheim School of Management, Germany) and Mr Franz W. Kellermanns (University of Tennessee, United States) for "Stepping into the buyers' shoes - gaining and losing real options from family departure in family firm acquisitions" Abstract

Mrs Sonia Boussaguet (Reims Management School, France) for "Taking office in a "repreneurial" context: Identifying facilitation and activation conditions" Abstract

Mrs Judit Csákné Filep (Corvinus University of Budapest, Hungary) for "The succession process in Hungarian family businesses in empirical approach" Abstract

Mrs Bérangère Deschamps (Grenoble University, France) for "External takeover of small and medium sized enterprises: what do we know?" Abstract

Mr Alfredo De Massis (University of Bergamo, Italy), Mrs Jess H. Chua (Haskayne School of Business, Canada) and Mr James Chrisman (Mississippi State University, United States) for "Factors Preventing Intra-Family Succession" Abstract

Mr Gérard Hirigoyen and Mrs Rania Labaki (Bordeaux 4 University, France) for "Behavioral bias in the family business succession process : towards a conceptual model" Abstract

Mrs Sophie Manigart (Vlerick Leuven Gent Management School, Belgium), Mr Hannes Leroy (KU Leuven, Belgium), Mr Miguel Meuleman (Vlerick Leuven Gent Management School, Belgium) and Mrs Veroniek Collewaert (Vlerick Leuven Gent Management School, belgium) for "Understanding the Continuation of Firm Activities when Entrepreneurs Exit their Firms: Using Theory of Planned Behavior" Abstract Keynote Transeo Conference

Mrs Maija Tähtinen (Turku School of Economics, Finland) for "Internationalization of Knowledge-Intensive Business Service Franchise to Great Britain" Abstract

Mrs Catherine Thévenard-Puthod and Mr Christian Picard (University of Savoie, France) for "The effectiveness of a business transfer mentoring to reduce the perceived difficulties of the buyer during the post-transfer phase. Lessons from an experimental project conducted at the European level" Abstract

Mrs Nikolai Trifonov (Belarusian National Technical University, Belarus) for "Value for SME transfer: user value instead market value" Abstract